Germany over Christmas

Search

Germany over Christmas

Search this Thread

Old Oct 13th, 2006, 02:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Germany over Christmas

Hi this is my first time leaving the states and I had a few questions about traveling to Germany. Im going from the 20th of Dec until the 3rd of Jan. The schedule I have come up with so far is:
Day 1 Plane Flight (Dec 20)
Day 2 (Dec 21)Cathedral in Cologne on the way to Spangdahlem (Rail Pass Day 1)
Day 3 (Dec 22) Bastogne-Mardasson Monument, Patton's grave (2h drive) On the return drive Bitburg Brewery (20 mins from Spangdahlem) Xmas shopping
Day 4 (Dec 23) Cochem-Castle, wineries, small town Xmas shopping (1h 15m from Spangdahlem)
Day 5 (Dec 24)
Day 6 Xmas(Dec 25)
Day 7 (Dec 26) Hohenzollern Castle near Hechingen, south of Stuttgart (Train Pass Day 2)
Day 8 (Dec 27)Skiing/Garmisch
Day 9 (Dec 28)Skiing/Garmisch
Day 10 Get to Amsterdam (Dec 29) (Rail Pass Day 3)
Day 11 Party in Amsterdam (Dec 30)
Day 12 Party in Amsterdam (Dec 31)
Day 13 Recover in Amsterdam (Jan 1)
Day 14 Leave Amsterdam (Jan 2) (Rail Pass Day 4)
Day 15 Plane Flight (Jan 3) Leave

My first problem is going skiing in Garmisch. I have had a difficult time finding a place to stay. Ill be 26 years of age at the time so is a Youth hostel out of the question? Anyone know of a good hotel, nothing fancy pls. Second, alls I found online was a ski ticket for 3 days for all the different areas in Garmisch, is it possible to just get a single day pass?

I saw on the forums that the 25th and the 26th are holidays. Would Hohenzollern Castle be closed on the 26th?
If anyone has any input on something to see or really any input at all would be great. Thank you very much.
Old Oct 13th, 2006, 05:43 AM

Is there a reason why you can't start in the southern part of Germany and work your way north?
Will Cochem Castle be open during Dec?
Some places close from the end of Oct to the end of March.