Fun and Inexpensive visit to Dublin

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14th, 2003, 06:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a 24 year old student and I was hoping somebody might be able to suggest some places to stay in Dublin for my 4 day visit(inexpensive, I am on a students budget). I want to experience to beauty of Dublin and the pub life, of course. So what general area do you recommend we stay, and what should we see? Are there any places outside of Dublin you recommend us making it too? (There will only be me and another girl)
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 07:07 AM

Recommendations from another travel board:<BR>Abbey Court Hotel (may also have small apts. with cooking facilities)<BR>Temple Bar Hotel<BR>Barnacles (Hostel)<BR><BR>They also advise that the safer areas in Dublin are those divisible by '2': Dublin 2, Dublin 4, etc.<BR><BR>Don't miss the Literary Pub Crawl!
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 07:45 AM

What does the 'Dublin 2', 'Dublin 4' refer to? Is it a code like London SW1? Is it listed on most maps? I haven't yet noticed this.<BR>thanks
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 07:50 AM

I stayed at Avalon House in 1999 and had a very positive experience there.<BR>http://www.avalon-house.ie/<BR><BR>I also took a daytrip to Glendalough which I thought was really cool.<BR>
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 08:42 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
&quot;They also advise that the safer areas in Dublin are those divisible by '2': Dublin 2, Dublin 4, etc.&quot;<BR><BR>Not necessarily true. I had a wonderful stay in both Clontarf and Fairview, which are NOT in areas of Dublin divisible by 2. Don't fall for that theory....<BR>
Old Mar 14th, 2003, 09:38 AM