Frontistiria: Teaching in Greece

Dec 7th, 2007, 02:24 PM
Original Poster

Frontistiria: Teaching in Greece

I'm looking for someone with experience teaching English in a Greek frontisteria. I'm considering this job option and would like to know how your experience was. Any wisdom you have on the subject would be greatly appreciated. I'm in love with Crete, but would be open to working on other islands as well.

Questions:

1) There seem to be several agencies (TeachAbroad, Footprints Recruiting) who hire English speakers to teach at these frontisterias. Is it necessary to go through these agencies or will I have luck simply approaching schools in August?

2) Mostly these agencies are looking for EU citizens: Brits, Scots, etc. I'm an American. Does this limit my employment options?

3) I'm a credentialed English teacher in the United States with 4 years teaching experience so I don't feel I need to take a teacher's exam. I'm trying to avoid taking the TEFL/TESOL. Is this exam necessary or just a way for agencies to make money? How can I get around it?

4) I understand the frontisterias are after school and that students pay a small fee. Is this school the only option Greek kids have to learn English (other than paying big $ for a private tutor)?

5) Did you find the students interested in learning or are frontisterias just a baby-sitting job to keep kids out of trouble?

6) What kind of pay can I expect?

7) I really don't want to work more than 35 hours/week. What kind of a work load can I expect?

8) How many different classes do you teach each day?

Thank you so so much,
Stephanie
Dec 7th, 2007, 03:05 PM