Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

? for those of you who book your own trips...

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 18th, 2004, 06:16 PM
pnb
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, I've often read in the posts about people finding really great deals on airfare or hotel, etc. After having a marvelous time in Madrid last month we'd love to return early next year but would like to find some deals. How exactly do you go about finding deals on airfare and hotels (4-5 star hotels)? What is the best way to get good room rates and good rates on airfare?

Thank you for any advice as I am new to booking our own trips.
Old Oct 18th, 2004, 06:26 PM

I always do my own bookings. It involves a lot of telephoning, e-mailing checking newspaper ads, internet comparisons, etc. for airline fares. I have almost always found consolidators on the phone to be cheaper than using the Internet for long distance fares. If I'm flying a small airline and taking a short flight (an hour or so from say, Heathrow) I find I have good results on the Internet. For hotels, I try all the routes, calling, emailing and Internet. My best bet there has been email, but though I feel I have gotten good airline flight prices, I can not say I feel I've gotten the best hotel rates. Someone out there must do a better job than I do! It does take time to plan one's trip and keep the costs down and I must admit that sometimes I wish I did not need to work so hard! It's a lot of work for the independent traveler.
Old Oct 19th, 2004, 03:27 AM

for hotels usually your best bet is to try and book directly with the hotel. Go online and figure out those prices and then fax or eamil directly asking for the best rate possible. Recently I looked into a hotel and the "web special"was 190 euros and calling the hotel yielded 140 euro rate!