For Old Timers on Fodors

Search

For Old Timers on Fodors

Search this Thread

Old Jul 30th, 2009, 12:58 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
For Old Timers on Fodors

I'm beginning to post on fodors again after severlel months of staying away. I have been posting for several years and find that the questions are the same or similar year after year. Do other posters feel the same, what happened to those who posted several years ago and were interesting travelers? The past couple of years I've traveled to Mid east and have decreased posting here or responding. Do others feel the same or am I becoming a crotchety old man.
Old Jul 30th, 2009, 01:04 PM

Nope. You're right. Partly it's because of the blessed Lounge; and partly (I just realised it's TEN YEARS since I started posting here); well partly becuase in 10 years one has seen it all...

But they do discourage humour where we're meant to be being seriousabouttravel
Old Jul 30th, 2009, 01:13 PM
LJ

If you are a crotchety old man then I am a crotchety old woman, and there is no way I am admitting to THAT.

Yes, there is a certain sameness. But then somebody so endearing and enthusiastic comes along that I get sucked in all over again because I remember how exciting it was to visit Scavi or take that launch ride in Paris...
Old Jul 30th, 2009, 01:18 PM
yk

I'm not sure I understand. You are crotchety because people here ask the same questions year after year? Why wouldn't they ask the same questions?

Perhaps I don't qualify as an old-timer here. I suppose you had a different screenname before?
Old Jul 30th, 2009, 01:20 PM

I have posted more in recent months about Portugal. Our last three trips were there and compared to France and Italy there isn't as much asked or answered about this country.
So I try to contibute when I can and leave the other more informed posters to answer the repeat questions.