for experienced europe goers

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 3rd, 2003, 10:54 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello everyone! I am studying in Amsterdam from August to December and am 24-years old. My parents, my partner, and I are traveling for about 11 days before my program starts. Neither they nor I have been to Europe...ever! I need help deciding what do do with our time. I know we want to spend at least 3 or 4 days in Amsterdam, but that's all I know. Maybe some of you could give me some advice. All of us are very laid back and don't really like mainstream touristy type of stuff. I like hidden finds, great vegan friendly areas, and we love being outdoors. My partner and I love good experimental/fusion/jazz music. We would like to get good deals, but since we've never been to Europe, we're not that concerned with spending what we need to in order to get the most out of the trip. So maybe you seasoned travelers could give me some words of wisdom!
Thanks,
maria
Old Jun 3rd, 2003, 12:13 PM

Hi

better stick to N Europe if you're looking for vegan food. It's pretty rare throughout Europe, but almost impossible to find in the South.

Why not go up to Scandinavia ? Their season finishes mid August.

Peter
http://tlp.netfirms.com

Old Jun 3rd, 2003, 04:20 PM

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
If you haven't already, you might also like to read &/or post on Lonely Planet's Thorn Tree BB and also travel information by Rick Steves (whether his website, guidebooks, television shows).

Both are aimed more at younger &/or budget travel than Fodors focus (don't get me wrong, I love 'em all!).

The vegan thing is going to be the toughest part of anything you mentioned in your post, I'm afraid. Hopefully once you are settled in Amsterdam you will have a kitchen??
Old Jun 4th, 2003, 01:46 PM
Original Poster

Thanks a lot for the advice. Yea, I'll have an apartment. I'll definitely try the sites you suggested.

Peace,
maria
Old Jun 4th, 2003, 02:10 PM