Flying in Comfort

Search

Flying in Comfort

Search this Thread

Old Oct 24th, 2008, 07:06 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Flying in Comfort

I travel for a living and spending 8-10 hours in coach from the East Coast is not something I'm looking forward to. On the other hand, neither is forking over $7k for 2 1st class tickets.

Does anyone have any thoughts or suggestions on how to fly in comfort without spending the entire budget on airfare?

Thanks!
Old Oct 24th, 2008, 07:16 PM
yk

1) Go for Business Class instead of First Class.
2) Use frequent flier miles for the Business class seats
3) Buy economy seats but use FF miles to upgrade from economy to Business (a bit tricky though, as it depends on which airline, and most airlines only allow economy seats bought in certain fare class to upgrade, plus a hefty upgrade fee)
4) Have someone else pay for you seats.
Old Oct 24th, 2008, 07:19 PM

Travel on Wednesday.

Take a daytime flight if you can find one.

Book aisle seats for everybody in your party -- or at least for yourself.

Old Oct 24th, 2008, 08:36 PM

Book BA premium economy!
Old Oct 24th, 2008, 11:14 PM

Received 11 Likes on 4 Posts
Check on www.seatguru.com for the seating chart for each plane and find out which are the most comfortable seats.
Old Oct 25th, 2008, 03:05 AM

Hi MarkC5,

If you don't mind flying into Paris, look into L'Avion, the discount all-business class airline. Round-trip bc at $1400.

Have fun!

s
Old Oct 25th, 2008, 06:05 AM

I've flown both BA and Virgin Atlantic premium economy--I prefer the latter in terms of comfort, seat size and quality of food.

I flew Virgin Upper Class often for work--it's fantastic and very occasionally there are deals. Upper Class is a cross between business and first class, leaning more toward first, particularly with its fully horizontal beds and excellent service.

Those days (for me) are gone but Virgin premium economy is very comfortable.
Old Oct 25th, 2008, 06:43 AM
Jed