flu shot in the UK?

Sep 11th, 2006, 09:09 PM
Original Poster

flu shot in the UK?

I'm studying in England for a year ... I've always gotten the flu shot in the US, but I can't now as it isn't ready. Will I be able to get the flu shot in the UK? I'm registered in NHS with my GP in college ... can I get it there? Would I be charged? Will I not be able to get it since I'm not a baby or over 65?
Sep 11th, 2006, 11:03 PM

Ask your GP.

Some GPs have very low thresholds for non-elderly priority groups: people with high blood pressure, or allergies for example.

If yours hasn't, either he'll do it privately (£20-£40) or he or his receptionist will have a list of local private clinics who'll do it for the same price.
Sep 12th, 2006, 05:23 AM

It's unlikely you'll get a free flu shot as they are reserved for at-risk people, not healthy adults.
Sep 12th, 2006, 05:24 AM

By the way it is not a normal thing for healthy adults to have a flu shot here, that is why you would have to pay. I don't know anyone who has one bar my parents who are nearing 80.
Sep 12th, 2006, 07:21 AM
Original Poster

Thanks. I was thinking that maybe they were reserved for older people. In America, it's recommended that everyone gets one, and I'd definitely want to have one. I don't mind paying if need be.
Sep 12th, 2006, 07:33 AM

Actually in the States, depending on where you live, flu shots are also often limited to those w/ health issues, babies, and the elderly. It is "suggested" that everyone get them but in fact only those at risk are guaranteed to have them.
Sep 12th, 2006, 07:53 AM

Actually in the States, the Center for Disease Control recommends the following categories of people (and those who live and/or care for them) get a yearly flu shot:

Children aged 659 months,
Pregnant women,
People 50 years of age and older, and
People of any age with certain chronic medical conditions;
People who live in nursing homes and other long term care facilities.