Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

FIRST TRIP TO ITALY! Need help/suggestions with honeymoon

Old Apr 19th, 2005, 11:07 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi I’m a newbie. I recently joined Fodors and must say that I have become addicted. What a wealth of information! Unfortunately I joined after my fiancé and I booked our honeymoon to Italy. For both of us this is our first time to Italy so we thought that a tour would be the best way to go. We have already booked a tour through Globus, the Italy at Leisure tour. After reading all the many threads of information on Italy I am seeing that a tour for a first timer is really unnecessary and may be more expensive. So my challenge today is to see if I can try to do this trip on my own and SAFE MONEY in the process. We are spending about $5,000.00 on the Globus Tour. This includes 3 nights in Rome, 3 nights Florence, 2 nights Venice, and 1 night in Milan. If we try to do this trip on our own we would still like to visit these same cities (I guess we both could do without the night in Milan and save that for the next trip). At this point we still have time to cancel the tour. Here is our current itinerary. There are some things we are unable to change:
Flying out of Atlanta – June 19th (using points)
Arriving in Paris – June 20th
3 nights Paris- 2 nights at the Hilton Paris (using points); 1 night Marriott Champs- Elysees (using points, gotta love those points!) – June 20th – June 22nd
Departing Paris to Rome – June 23rd – I have already booked a flight through Ryanair. Thanks to all you guys here on this sight I was able to get a GREAT deal of 5.99 Euro per ticket.
June 23rd – July 2nd – we have these dates designated for the Tour. So we are open for suggestions.
July 2nd – Arrive in Nice for two nights – have not yet worked out how we are getting to Nice. I have tried to book rail with little success.