Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

First time in Europe.. France and Switzerland?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 10th, 2018, 02:45 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,

This is my first time to Europe and I need suggestions on where to go. The only solid part is that I will be arriving and staying in Paris for 5 nights so I need to think of the rest. I'm thinking of 3 cities in total so I can spend 5-6 days in each (total 2-3 weeks) unless you guys think I can go to more in that time.

Couple of itineraries I thought of:
-Paris+Belgium+Amsterdam
-Paris+Switzerland+Undecided
-Paris+Spain+Portugal

I'm leaning towards Switzerland as the second place to visit (maybe Luzern because it's a compact city on a Lake). But I don't know what the third should be.

Things to consider:
-I am going by myself
-Total duration: 2-3 weeks (flexible) in August
-Must be able to walk or take public transport in the city
-I love museums, walking tours, boat cruises, and architecture
-I will be traveling between cities by train (unless plane is cheaper)

Thanks!
Old Jun 10th, 2018, 03:02 AM

For Switzerland you may have a look at https://www.myswitzerland.com/en-ch/home.html
I suppose you know that France too has a lot to offer (not only Paris).
Old Jun 10th, 2018, 05:19 AM

France, Switzerland a bit of Italy could work - fly into Paris and outof Rome, etc. Trains are great everywhere - for lots on understanding trains and passes and such check www.seat61.com; www.ricksteves.com and BETS-European Rail Experts - what to see the Alps at their most awesome - I suggest going to Interlaken area and up to a neat mountain village like Grindelwald or Wengen. Lucerne is really nicer -I'd suggest Lucerne and the Interlaken area then head for Italy.
Old Jun 11th, 2018, 09:02 AM

Paris, Switzerland, Italy

or