first time in europe

May 24th, 2014, 03:35 AM
Original Poster

first time in europe

I have no experience in travelling alone. Suggest me which countries and cities should i visit, accommodations atleat for a month/location and best time to visit them. Not for typical tourisim,but to see the actual culture of european countries.
May 24th, 2014, 03:46 AM

You will have to select an area of a country if you really want to see the culture. This kind of travel need takes a lot of time as you have to mingle with the locals. Some of them will not understand you (like rural italy and rural Paris)

Be nice to everyone you meet - you are in their country, not yours!

If you can be more specific about an area of a country, I might be able to give you my findings
May 24th, 2014, 03:51 AM

Cities are generally the place where people are busy and while there may be high-art you are unlikely to meet many people or interact with many in a large city. I suggest staying in a smaller town or village and you need to join in with what is on. Hence something with festivals going on on a regular basis and a vibrant town activity.

Next we need to know what languages you speak as smaller places will have fewer English speakers (except Ireland, Uk, Holland) and also which European culture, the people of Greece are very different from Icelanders.
May 24th, 2014, 03:55 AM

<< Not for typical tourisim,but to see the actual culture of european countries. >>

Tourist sights are part of the culture of any place in Europe, just as they are in your home country. The Eiffel Tower is a tourist sight but also part of the French culture as it was built for the 1889 Exposition.

You'll have to be more specific as to what you mean by culture.
May 24th, 2014, 04:46 AM
Original Poster

I can speak German; so only Germany, Liechtenstein, Austria and Switzerland.

By culture i mean the actual lifestyle of common people.
May 24th, 2014, 04:49 AM