Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

First time abroad, traveling alone, college student: any tips?

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 4th, 2003, 08:18 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've never travelled abroad, and am just completing my first year of college. I'm studying abroad in Barcelona for a month this summer but plan to travel elsewhere in Europe before and/or after the program in BCN. Do you think it's safe/reasonable for me to travel alone? I'm thinking about going to Portugal, Amsterdam, Italy, other cities in Spain, etc.
Old May 4th, 2003, 08:25 PM

It's perfectly reasonable and safe, in my opinion, for you to travel alone. I went to Europe for the summer after my second year in college and had a great time. And, it was a life changing experience (changed my major in university, got a travel bug that remains to this day). You will meet other travelers at school, on trains, in youth hostels, etc., if you so desire; if you want company, it will be easy to find. But, enjoy the times and freedom when you are on your own, too.

Happy travels.

John H.
Old May 4th, 2003, 08:56 PM

I would totally agree that it's reasonable. I will be starting college in the fall and will spend a month in Dresden Germany this summer. It will be my second solo trip overseas but first completely alone for the whole thing. I would perhaps recommend waiting until after your program to tour other countries alone - you'll have a feel for Europe and probably other people around to help you some. But by all means go for it! Hey maybe we could meet in Paris? LOL!! (BTW are you from St. Paul - I live in WI)
Old May 4th, 2003, 09:05 PM
AR

More than safe! Just keep to the obvious ground rules. Your biggest threat will be pick-pockets in places such as Rome. Enjoy Europe. BTW, Barcelona is fantastic.
Old May 4th, 2003, 09:09 PM