Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

First Class Trenitalia Italy Train Question

May 31st, 2008, 09:56 AM
Original Poster

Hello all,

This is my first time posting at this site, I hope someone can help. I will be going to Italy for the first time in a couple of weeks. I have read a lot of the advice on this website but there is one thing I cannot seem to find, so I hope you can bear with me if this seems to be an obvious question/answer.

I am going to be taking a morning train from Venice to Rome one day of my trip, and the train from Rome to Naples another day. I have heard if you book first class there is more room to keep your luggage under your seat and that it is not much more expensive than 2nd class, so I want to do this because I don't think I will be able to lift my luggage above my head. My question is (forgive me if this is obvious), when you are waiting at the train station, how do you know which car to get on. In other words how do you know that you have gotten on the first class train car?

Also I am wondering what the train station is like in terms of how far in advance I would have to get there to purchase my ticket. I was going to purchase it online in advance but I have read on here that people had problems with the trenitalia website, in fact it is confusing to me as well, so I'm wondering what the experts think.

Thank you for your help.
May 31st, 2008, 10:23 AM

Well I probably woldn;t wait until the trip to buy the tickets, but get them when I arrived in the city. There's usually room day of on trains - esp in First Class - but not a guarantee. Typically the cars have a 1 or 2 on the outside to tell you which is which. And at many stations there are signs on the platfor indicating where each will stop.

Also - you do realize that you usually have to get your bags up several narrow, steep steps just to get into the train. So - be sure you can manage them easily.
May 31st, 2008, 10:27 AM