Finding work as a massage therapist

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2006, 04:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am going to Spain at the end of April. My father is from there & I'll start in Madrid staying w/family. I'm a licenesed massage therapist in the US & would LOVE to work there ~ preferable like Barcelona or another city near the coast. I'll be there 6+ months. SUGGESTIONS/TIPS/Feedback???
Thanks!!
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 05:04 AM

I suppose it works in Spain the same way it works in other EU countries. First you have to find that job, and that it easier to do when you are already there. And then, after you can name the employer, you apply for a work permit and a visa.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 05:34 AM

Do you have a Spanish passport, or can you get one before you leave?

If you do, you simply job hunt. With unemployment in Spain roughly twice US levels, that won't be that easy, but it's legal - and over the summer season, concentrating on the Costas, there ought to be a reasonable amount of jobs going.

If you don't, I'm afraid Elina has misunderstood the law in Spain and in the rest of the EU.

An employer in the EU has to demonstrate to his national government that you have skills he can't find anywhere in Europe. And he has to prove he's looked throughout Europe - even down to showing copies of the ads he's placed in the German Massagers' Weekly. If he can so demonstrate (and to be honest, I wouldn't hold my breath), then you can apply for the relevant visa and enter Spain. You CANNOT work on the tourist entry permit you get on arrival as a tourist without a visa.

Nor, BTW, can someone who's not a citizen of an EU/EEA country stay in Spain for over 3 months without applying for a special visa.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 06:13 AM

"An employer in the EU has to demonstrate to his national government that you have skills he can't find anywhere in Europe."