Films & Speed

Old Mar 23rd, 2002, 07:40 AM
Carbo

Films & Speed

I debating on what film to take for my trip. 200 is simply not sufficient for indooor shooting where flashes are not allowed. I was going to take 400, but wondered about 800. My experience is that the higher the spped of thefilm, the lower quality the image. Has anybodyhad much experience with 800 and faster films.

I aldo wondered whether it is worth getting these fancy, more expensive film types. Kodak has many types that cost significantly more than their standard film. Are they worth it?

Old Mar 23rd, 2002, 07:50 AM
photo

I'm not an expert, but I just got back a roll of the 800 (Kodak) and did not find it to be noticably grainer for the outdoor shots (on an overcast day). Probably will see a difference with indoor shots, but you'll have much more flexibility. Hope that helps.

Old Mar 23rd, 2002, 07:59 AM
Marc David Miller

Unless I know I am going to be in sunlight, I always use 800-speed negative film . Especially with point and shoot cameras the lens tends to be very slow, and the shutter speed has to be slowed down to compensate for this. That introduces "shake", which generally is far worse than whatever grain an 800-speed film shows (and it is a lot less than in days of old). I have never seen any shot overexposed when shooting with 800-speed film, even tops of churches with bright blue backgrounds. Unless you want to take different speed films for different purposes, I recommend 800-speed for travel purposes.

Old Mar 23rd, 2002, 08:33 AM
mike

Carbo,
Kodak's Royal Gold is a notch up from Gold. And it depends on how large a print you are going to make from your negative. The larger the print, the more the grain will be apparant. With a 35mm neg. on 800 film you will be alright to a 5x7, but after that you will notice the grain. Some viewers will notice the grain more than others. M.

Old Mar 23rd, 2002, 08:34 AM
Gretchen