Search

Fiction with setting in Paris?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 19th, 2015, 08:15 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fiction with setting in Paris?

Hello France experts!
My DH and I are planning to plan a trip to Paris, for a week in October 2016. I was there in 1986 for 5 days when I was a university student, and my DH has never been. I'm sure a lot has changed in the past 30 years!

I'd love some suggestions of books to get me in the Paris frame of mind as I start researching what I hope will be a fabulous visit. Before we went to Florence a couple years ago, I read some of Margaret Nabb's detective novels set there, and Mary McCarthy's "Stones of Florence" -- which I seem to remember I heard about on this forum. Something like that, but doesn't have to be a crime story, would be great.

thanks for any recommendations. I'm sure I'll be back to ask questions once I get started.
Old Aug 19th, 2015, 08:23 AM

Received 6 Likes on 1 Post
Quite a few of the detective novels by French author Fred Vargas have been translated into English, and they have the great advantage of not getting the details about geography or everyday life wrong, which is one of the things that has me howling in horror when I read most British or American books set in Paris.

http://www.amazon.com/Fred-Vargas/e/B001I9OXT6
Old Aug 19th, 2015, 08:42 AM

Received 26 Likes on 4 Posts
The Simenon 'Maigret' mysteries are classics and I love them.

There's a new one out, I'm waiting for a copy from the library, "The Little Paris Bookshop', by Nina George, that looks very promising. Paris, books and a love story all rolled into one.
Old Aug 19th, 2015, 08:44 AM

Aimee Leduc mysteries, Cara Black

The next three are set during WWII but have an atmosphere of suspense that the occupation brought, as well as some mystery:
All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
Suite Francaise, Irene Nemirovsky (set during German occupation, WWII)
Sarah’s Key, Tatiana De Rosnay