Favorite views/streets/piazzas in Italy

Search

Search this Thread

Old May 29th, 2004, 03:42 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Seems like everyone recommends their favorite hotels and restaurants but I'm looking for recommendations on other things. I'll be visiting Florence, Siena, Lucca, Pisa, and Venice in July (also Prague) and I'm interested in places people went that they thought were really wonderful - in terms of piazzas, views, streets, courtyards, etc - that kind of thing. Not the big "sites" which are so well covered in guidebooks/internet sites. I'm a photographer so I always have in mind what places are partaicularly picturesque, but I also just love walking around and sitting in places that have that wonderful feel. So what are your favorite places?
Old May 29th, 2004, 05:49 AM
rex

Bassano del Grappa, Trento and more places than you can shake a stick at, in Venice.

Best wishes,

Rex
Old May 29th, 2004, 07:26 AM

Good morning, to me the first sight of the Pza S. Marco when enteringthe square after dark from the southwest
entrange facing the Bisilica San Marco,
the Campanile and the Procuraties, especially when the groups at the Quadri or Florian are playing...Do renew this view each time we return to
Venezia..Richard of LaGrange Park, Il..
Old May 29th, 2004, 08:31 AM

I don't know if mine "counts", because it may qualify as one of the big "sites", but I adore the Piazza della Signoria in Florence. It's so full of life and art and architecture and culture. Wish I was going again!
Old May 29th, 2004, 08:36 AM

The view from Fiesole in Florence, and as Rex said, every corner you turn in Venice.
Old May 29th, 2004, 08:59 AM

In Rome: Via Gulia - there are wonderful arches with long hanging Ivy I believe. I just got some pics back and these came out very nice as well as a subtle fountain against a wall.