Family of 10: 2006 Trip to Italy

Search

Search this Thread

Old Sep 20th, 2006, 06:56 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm a couple of months late writing this trip report, and thought that maybe there was some useful information for other Fodorites traveling in Italy. I have never written a trip report before, and to be quite frank, didn't think anyone would be interested in what I had to say.

This diary was written more as a memoir for my family than for a public forum so I have replaced our names with letters. FYI the length of the report is 18 pages of a Word doc.

The trip report will be broken up into segments by location, so that it is easier to read.

I will be more than happy to answer any questions.

If anyone does make it through to the end, I sincerely hope you find it enjoyable.

DESTINATION: ITALY
"A Trip to Remember"

After 2½ years of preparation, we were ready, organized and raring to go to Italy. Six of us were departing from Connecticut, and four of us were departing from Florida for a total of 10 family members spanning three generations. The dream was becoming a reality. This is the true story of the Kane’s marvelous Italy trip.

My objective was to find 3*—4* hotels in the historic district of every location. Every hotel must have a front desk staff with a good reputation, air conditioning, an elevator, be spotlessly clean, and have breakfast included in the room rate. We would be casual diners on this trip allowing for the children to feel comfortable in the restaurants.

Driving from Connecticut to JFK Airport in New York is a nightmare and the cost of parking is expensive, so I hired a black stretch limousine.

JFK to Venice: Saturday, June 24, 2006