Facts on Germany. Can anyone help?

Old Oct 13th, 2000, 03:09 AM
Alfonse

Facts on Germany. Can anyone help?

Hello I am a college student in New York and I have a project to do this semester about Germany and German culture. I wish to do some research so perhaps some of you who live there or know about the country could help me. Here are some of the things I am trying to get straight:

1. Is Germany the largest, most densely populated and richest country in Europe?
2. Who wrote the German national anthem?
3. What is Germany's national dish?
4. What is Germany's national drink?
5. Is it really true that Adolf Hitler was in fact not actually German but Australian?
6. It seems there are large chunks of Germany which are now in Poland and Russia?? Where did the Germans that lived there go then?
7. Where does the Kaiser and his descendants live these days?
8. Are all festive occasions (and national vacations) celebrated by wearing leather shorts and slapping ones knees? Are tourists also expected to do this to fit in?
9. Is it a much less rich country than the US? Do most people have cars less than five years old? Do many people have refrigerators? dishwashers? DVDs etc?

Thank you for any help you can provide. My address is : [email protected]
Thanks

Alfonse O'Connel

Old Oct 13th, 2000, 03:20 AM
Paige

Sounds like you need a German to answer most of your questions, but
- Hitler was from Austria, not Australia.
- Beer MUST be the national drink!
- During festive occasions in Bavaria, people really do wear lederhosen (leather shorts/pants) and other traditional clothes and tourists can if they want.
- When we lived in the states we had 2 cars, 3 bedroom house, dishwasher and all the other stuff. We live in Germany now and don't have cars or a dishwasher and live in a 2 bedroom apartment for about twice what our house payment in the states was.
- The 'Germans' that lived in what's now Poland and Russia were probably Poles and Russians.

Old Oct 13th, 2000, 04:43 AM