Exploring Scotland by car

Old Jul 7th, 2003, 11:24 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exploring Scotland by car

We will have a car and a week after visiting Edinburgh in early September. Where should we go, or what should we not miss? Where should we stay, where should we eat - what was your experience, good/or bad.
Old Jul 7th, 2003, 12:39 PM

Im no expert as many will soon point out. But I think the scenery along the coast in the Highlands is spectacular. There's a castle (I think it's Castle Stalker) that's out in the water along a very pretty drive between Oban and Ft William. Ft William is pretty forgettable, but the drive from there to Invergarry, past Eileen Doonan (photogenic but a bit of a letdown) and on to the Isle of Skye is also pretty spectacular.

I also liked the drive around Killin and Aberfeldy.
Old Jul 10th, 2003, 09:01 AM

I agree with Snoopy; Skye is awesome. I would definitely include it in your itinerary. Loch Ness is also beautiful.
Old Jul 10th, 2003, 05:30 PM
Original Poster

Thanks, Snoopy and Kendra. Any tips on where to stay in Edinburgh?. Also, any experience with B&Bs, average prices for a couple? We think we will not prebook anywhere, just wander. Is this doable?
Old Jul 11th, 2003, 07:15 AM