Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Europe trip need a Visa ,student or tourist?

Notices

Old Oct 7th, 2012, 03:04 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi All,
I am a student and I am going to Paris for three weeks for a mini-term conducted by my college. After three weeks of study, I will travel by myself to Italy and Greece. Because of my citizenship, I need to apply a visa.

I have several question, could you please help me ?Thank you so much for your help!

1. Concerning student Visa, should I apply for a student visa or a tourist visa? I am concerned because my mini-term is totally conducted by a US College, without any association with any French School, can I still apply for student visa?

2. If I can be issued an student visa, can I travel to Italy AND Greece?

3. How many entry time should I choose? Does single entry allow me to go to all of these three countries?

if I cannot apply to Student Short stay visa, then for Schengen tourist visa,
1. Do I need all hotel information Faxed? Or printing them out will be ok?

Thank you sooo much, I really appreciate your answer!
Old Oct 7th, 2012, 03:51 PM

You need to call the French embassy or consulate. They are the only people who can give authorized answers to your questions. You will have to contact them sometime to apply for a visa.

Why aren't the people at your college helping/directing you?
Old Oct 7th, 2012, 04:05 PM

I think for what you are doing, a simple visitor visa is all you need.
For visa nationals, the Schengen visa (that's what you need) is usually issued for a fixed length of time, and it's governed by the number of days you have confirmed accommodation for, details of which you must enclose, together with medical insurance cover.