Europe - First time - need advice

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 3rd, 2007, 01:03 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My mother and I are hoping to go to Europe next summer. Since we are over a year from the trip, it is in the very early talking stages. Neither have ever been and I would love some recommendations.

We both want to see Paris, but aren't sure where else we should go. It all looks so wonderful that we cannot narrow it down.

Here is some of our info/likes/etc.

* I am nearing 40 and my mom is nearing 60. She is in good health, but not incredibly active. So, we can't keep up the pace of some college age kids backpacking across Europe.

* I love history and art, as does she.

* Neither of us are big shoppers.

* We would like to eat at a few nice restaurants, but neither of us are foodies.

* Since I am a teacher, we will most likely be going in June.

* We will probably go for around 10 days, but are flexible.

* We aren't wealthy, so price is a consideration. (But, this will be her only trip to Europe, and some things are worth spending on)

* I think I would like London.

* My mom thinks she would like Italy.

* I wish there is someway we could go to Auschwitz and/or Normandy.

* Museums are a MUST!!!

Can any of you give me some ideas that may help me narrow down an itenerary?

Thanks,
Old Apr 3rd, 2007, 01:19 PM

With 10 days, I might be tempted to stay in Paris, take a group tour to Normandy, then maybe a day trip to Versailles, Giverny or Chartres.

If you add London or someplace in Italy, be sure to fly open jaw (fly into one city and out of another). It typically doesn't cost more, and saves time.
Old Apr 3rd, 2007, 01:49 PM