Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Eurailpass experiences for Mature Travellers?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 4th, 2006, 10:22 AM
LJ
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I picked this title carefully because my most recent Eurailpass experience is 30 years out of date. I was a university student at that ime and it was a terrific way for a first-timer to see England, Scotland, France, Switzerland and Germany-overnighting on Wagonlit/couchettes and going where the whim took us.

DH and I are noodling over the idea of a 30-or 60-day all country pass for our next jaunt. We have recent Italian and UK train experience that was very positive.We still like to travel light and are in good shape. But maybe this is romantic notion and unrealistic for a couple in their 50's.

So if you have had recent experiences of this kind of multi-country travel without a pre-set itinerary, could you share?
Old Oct 4th, 2006, 10:38 AM

I like to refer questions like this to a superb free publication, The European Planning & Rail Guide (available at www.budgeteuropetravel.com) as it will explain thoroughly the European train system - maps, itineraries, etc. You may also want to look at www.ricksteves.com as his site has lots of independent rail travel, passes as well as a list of cheapo airlines and alternatives types of travel. though there is a 1- and 2 month consecutive pass which could be a bargain if traveling every other day or so investigate the newer Eurail Select Pass where you chose your own number of unlimited travel days over a two month period and can select the number of countries, up to 5 you want the pass to be valid in. Otherwise the benefits are the same as the classic Eurailpass which you had 30 years ago. You may want to go with the select pass and then use a few cheap airline links - details of cheap airlines serving any two cities: www.whichbudget.com