Search

Driving Italy-France

Search this Thread

Old Jun 3rd, 2010, 07:37 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Driving Italy-France

Hi All...newbie here!

My girlfriend and I just changed our July vacation plan from Mexico to Europe. What we're thinking of doing is flying into Venice, renting a car and driving to Nice, then train to Paris to fly home. I work for a major airline, so the air travel side is taken care of, but neither of us have been to Italy or France before, and are looking for pointers.

We're going to have a week, and would like to see Lake Como, maybe skirt along the southern edge of the Alps, and end up in Nice about 4 days after leaving Venice. Ideally we'd like to rent something fun to drive...found a few sites where we could get anything from a Mercedes SLK or Posrche Boxster to a Ferrari 458...though budget wise we're closer to the Boxster!

Anyone have any tips on either specialty car rental, places to stay, or suggested driving itineraries?

Thanks in advance!!

Nick
Old Jun 3rd, 2010, 07:40 AM

You may find it advantageous to return the car in Ventimiglia, Italy - the border town next to the French Riviera and a short train ride from Nice - that is if drop off charges are really absurd for dropping the car off in France as it could be for drops in countries other than the one in witch you rented it.
Old Jun 3rd, 2010, 07:56 AM