Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Delta to Paris - is this bait and switch?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Apr 12th, 2010, 03:24 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I posted this on the airline forum, but I thought some of you might have experienced this and could help me out.

When checking prices for flights to Paris, Delta's website shows a base rate of $813 plus $99 taxes and fees for a total of $912. Since the all segments of the itinerary showed that they qualified for Pay With Miles, I decided to take advantage as a way to (1) save some money (2) use some of my miles which I've never done before and (3) save some money.

When I selected Pay With Miles, it quoted me the same price, $912, and took me to the next screen for travelers names and credit card information to pay for the balance due after the discount from my miles. When I click to Book/Purchase, I get a screen that so nicely informs me that there has been a "slight" increase in the ticket price - a "slight" $758 increase per ticket!

I hit the Live Chat button and asked the representative who said that obviously the seats had sold out and that it takes "a while" for the website to update. Hmmm, wonder how long it takes as I have been getting this increased fare screen for two days and on about five different itineraries out of two different airports. Plus every consolidator site shows these flights available AND at the price Delta's own site shows before you hit Pay With Miles.

So, back to Live Chat where I'm told this time that Delta's online reservations system does not work with Firefox browser and to switch to Explorer. Imagine how surprised I was to find on Delta's own FAQ page that their website supports Explorer, Safari AND Firefox! When I tell the chat rep this, he says, well, try Explorer and I should be able to complete the reservation.