Cheap Eats in Paris, Madrid, Venice, and Athens

Search

Search this Thread

Old Oct 28th, 2013, 12:09 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am a college student studying abroad in England, and I am spending my spring break traveling around France, Italy, Spain, and Greece.

I am trying to plan a budget right now to see how much I should allow myself to spend a day on food. I am open to eat at street vendors, grocery shop, and any other suggestions. Also I would like to be able to enjoy a drink or two in each location, could you help me by letting me know the average wine price?

Thanks!
Old Oct 29th, 2013, 04:46 PM

For any city, don't eat anywhere near the big tourist attractions....the prices will be higher.

In Paris, have that drink at the counter rather than at a table as counter service will also cost less. Look for some of the T/Rs from kerouac on local Paris neighborhoods...he eats well without spending a lot. He lives in Paris, so check out his posts.

It's been too long for me to help with Venice.
Old Oct 29th, 2013, 04:55 PM

Sup

Venice is sooo expensive to eat esp anywhere near st mark's square so avoid eating there if u want to save some money- Alfredo's Pasta had awesome service and the best pasta I've ever tasted-and it is very affordable! Its only a 5 min walk from the square too, google them up

Paris-i found it to be worth the extra few euro to have my coffee outside... i enjoyed sitting alongside the other locals;soaking up the sun and culture of Paris. Outisde you're closer to the "moveable feast" i guess.
Old Oct 29th, 2013, 05:14 PM

In Venice there is a nice restaurant with self service, not far from the train station, it's called Brek, at Rio Terrà Lista di Spagna, Venice +39 041 244 0158
It's mostly buffet style, but you order the meat dishes and they are made right then, and you pay the cashier. Not dirt cheap (hey, it's Venice...) but sure to save you serious bucks. Brek is also in other cities in Italy.