Reload this Page >

Changes over the years???

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7th, 2001, 04:40 AM
Rick

This question is directed primarily to European travel veterans. I've been to Europe twice; in 1975 as a student backpacker, and in 1976 on my honeymoon. I still have vivid memories of sights, sounds and smells of cities, countrysides and train stations. I also remember what things cost..... such as a pensione in Barcelona for 75 cent per night. <BR> <BR>After 25 years of kids, college, bills, marriage breakup, etc,...... I intend to return this fall with a new partner. <BR> <BR>My question is this.... <BR>What changes can I expect to see? Are my vivid memories a thing of the past and a new Europe awaits me, or will it be like seeing an old friend?? <BR> <BR> <BR> <BR>

Old Mar 7th, 2001, 05:16 AM
Alec

Looking back the last 25 years, Europe has changed a lot. I was a student in mid 70's and did the usual trips around Europe. Compared to my recollections of those days, Europe is a lot busier, with travellers from all round the world. In those days, for example, it was rare to see visitors from Communist countries - now travellers from the former Soviet bloc and China are everywhere, as well as large numbers from Latin America, Far East and Middle East. They have certainly put pressure on accommodation and tourist infrastructure, esp in historic cities. Even though travelling has become easier and cheaper (relatively speaking), there is more hassle and I tend to pre-book more than I used to, just to make sure I won't be disppointed or frustrated. Having said that, Europe is still beautiful, there has been a lot of improvement in transport, presentation of sights and things like disabled access. Though most parts of Europe have been discovered, it's still possible to enjoy some stunning scenery and old-fashioned hospitality and pace of life that hasn't changed much, if you travel off-season, choose areas little frequented by tour buses, cycle or hike. So if you