Camera Daypack

Feb 25th, 2009, 09:16 AM
Original Poster

Camera Daypack

I am studying abroad in Germany for 5 months in the fall. I am taking a small, pocketsized camera for everyday use and some trips, however I am also taking a Canon XS SLR with 2 lenses (the one it came with and one other). I would like to take my SLR with me to cities like Paris, Rome, etc. I am searching for a backpack that I can carry with me when I leave my hostel/hotel that can serve as a camera bag with a seperate place for things I would use throughout the day (journal, cell phone, smaller camera, etc). I would really like a backpack that doesn't scream "I'm a tourist, come steal my nice SLR camera" and is safe to carry.

I have looked at a few:
Tamrac Model 5546 Adventure 6 (http://www.tamrac.com/welcome.htm) however might look too much like a camera bag.
Tamrac Model 3375 Aero Speed Pack 75 (http://www.tamrac.com/welcome.htm)
Lowepro Orion Trekker II (http://products.lowepro.com/product/...%20II,1989.htm)
Lowpro CompuDaypack (http://products.lowepro.com/product/...ck,1922,16.htm)

Can anyone suggest any other packs that they like? Or give input on the ones I've looked at?
Feb 25th, 2009, 09:26 AM

What did you decide to do with the laptop?
Feb 25th, 2009, 09:30 AM
Original Poster

For these trips, my laptop will stay in Germany at the University I will be studying at. For the trips in the beginning of August I'm going to be leaving it in the room or in a safe, and just make sure I will back everything up. I will hopefully not be staying at any hostels, so I will have a hotel room or apartment to keep the laptop in (and also the camera when not needed).

I'm looking for the camera daypack for other trips throughout the semester.
Feb 25th, 2009, 09:32 AM

Excellent - glad you took my advice about safety of your belongings in hostels!
Feb 25th, 2009, 09:44 AM