Calling schuler

Aug 29th, 2007, 12:35 PM
Original Poster

Calling schuler

Guten Tag-
I was hoping you could help me. We are travelling to Switzerland in October and then on to Italy. I've tried to price the tickets using the sbb.ch website, but it won't allow me to since I'm an international visitor. I've checked on raileurope.com, but I would like to know what the difference in price is by waiting to purchase in Switzerland. We'd be leaving Biel on October 8 and arriving in Florence.

Would you be able to help me with this?

Vielen Dank
Aug 29th, 2007, 12:45 PM

I think that's me.

Gruezi Swiss Chocolate,

The sbb.ch website does not post prices for train destinations outside of Switzerland. They will send you a free offer if you contact them by email. For more information, see: https://www.sbb.ch/mct/wi/shop/b2c/sprache.do?en

I'm not an SBB expert. I'm more of an SOB expert since they pass near my house almost hourly.

Maybe someone else can give you even better advice.

Good luck!
Aug 29th, 2007, 12:54 PM
Original Poster

Thanks for the quick response! I'll try the link you gave me.

Tchuss!
Aug 29th, 2007, 12:56 PM

try www.cisalpino.com for train fares Switzerland to Italy - but Biel is i think off the main Cisalpino routes so figure from the nearest station that is

Cisalpino is the subsidiary of Italy and Suisse railways that runs trains between Switzerland and Italy via Milano but some go onto Florence

If not figure to Milan then go to www.trenitalia.com for Milan to Florence fares.

RE is usually at least a bit more, sometimes not much but at times significantly so so research both ends.
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:05 PM

Thanks Pal.

I figured out how to make a request. Go to the timetable, pick the train and time you're interested and push the "fare" box. Type in the necessary info and check that you're interested in price information only. This will be sent to the sbb and you should get a reply within a few days.

Good luck!
Aug 29th, 2007, 01:09 PM