Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

buying train tickets on-line through sncf?

Old Jul 6th, 2003, 06:29 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Thanks to this forum I discovered the sncf train site as an alternative to rail europe. I have read here about ordering on-line and using the option to print out the ticket. In reading the terms and conditions on the site it says that only listed countries are accepted for ordering on-line and that doing so from North America is not possible (it says that this must be done through rail europe). As mentioned here the prices are generally much better, particularly the prem prices, on SNCF. I am Canadian, and will be needing tickets for the end of August. I am a novice at this and wondering if those talking about buying through the sncf site are doing so from the U.S. or Canada. Alternatively, are the prices posted on the website the same if you are buying in person at the train station? I appreciate any help anyone can give with this - we are a family of four who will be travelling the last week of August and 1st week of September and I am trying to get the logistics sorted out!
Old Jul 6th, 2003, 07:06 PM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Just ignore that stuff about North America and leave "France" in the box; I truly think that is limited to reservations only (not payment). I have ordered tickets several times online and picked them up at the RR stations, but evidently printing them out is a breeze, so go for it.

There are some special rates for families, and since you have kids, you may qualify. How about listing specifics (dates, places, kids' ages) and let us help you.
Old Jul 6th, 2003, 07:25 PM
Original Poster

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts