Reload this Page >

Buy a watch in Switzerland?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 7th, 2000, 09:44 AM
Mary

Hoping someone in Fodor-land has some knowledge (expertise?) in the pros and cons of buying a watch in Switzerland. . .we are visiting Lucerne next week and wondered if the watches are a "good deal" for American shoppers (having mocked Americans buying things at The Gap in London--given the exchange rate--I don't want to be guilty of the same thing!); if you have an opinion or useful tips, I'd love to hear them. <BR> <BR>As always, thanks in advance! <BR> <BR>Mary

Old Mar 7th, 2000, 10:12 AM
Bob Brown

I am no expert! But for the past two years I have been shopping for a nice watch. I finally made my selection and made the purchase here at home, over the web. <BR> <BR>I think it depends on what kind of watch you want. To find a new Rolex at a discounted price, you have to know somebody special. If you want a Tag Heuer, Breitling, Omega, Cartier, Baume and Mercier or Ebel there are e-commerce places on the web like World Of Watches that sell at 25-30% off. ($10 shipping then you usually have to pay someone to adjust the band for you.) Mostly the places that I have seen on the web display watches that list under $7,000. The high end for Omegas are something under $3,500 before discount. <BR>If you are looking in the $10,000 to $15,000 range, then the best bet is to price watches here before you arrive in Luzern. I saw quite a few jeweled watches in the 15,000 chf range when I was window shopping last year. I decided to come home and buy. I think you can do better over here unless you have an "in" over there.

Old Mar 7th, 2000, 01:57 PM
Linda