budgeting while studying abroad

Dec 28th, 2005, 06:40 PM
Original Poster

budgeting while studying abroad

I am studying abroad for six months, and though I am looking forward to my adventure across seas, I do have to budget my (or should I say my parents) money. Do you have any suggestions as to how to budget for this long, or types of financial aid I can look into to help me while I am there? Do you recommend trying to work over there?
Dec 28th, 2005, 06:49 PM

What type of living accomodations will you have? How about dining? Is it part of a package?

One thing I found that helped me while there is keeping a small notebook/journal of how I spent my money. I was surprised how "little expenses" really added up! Looking at it helped me revise some of my spending habits!
Dec 29th, 2005, 09:51 AM

Where are you from? I doubt you will be able to get papers to work legally.

I would budget for europe the same as you would at home while you are in school. If you are studying and staying in one place it would be similar (rent, food, classes, etc.).

Or do you plan to travel around during the six months? Then you need to plan those weeks like you would a vacation budget (hostels, trains, etc.).
Dec 29th, 2005, 09:56 AM

If you are a student you may be allowed to work up to a certain number of hours per year. Are you going through an organization that could (or will) orient you on these legal details? My daughter studied in Germany last year through her California University and there was a great orientation program.
Dec 29th, 2005, 12:29 PM
Original Poster

i am planning to travel a lot, but i do have to watch my money. I will be living in an apartment with three or four other people, but I will stay in a hostel when i get there.
Dec 29th, 2005, 01:15 PM

yes, I think you can work legally for some hours if you are a student. There are some websites that discuss that a little more (maybe www.workabroad.com or something).