British Isles Cruise

Search

British Isles Cruise

Search this Thread

Old Aug 4th, 2015, 11:49 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
British Isles Cruise

Leaving on Aug. 26 for a 9 day cruise around the British Isles (Orkney Islands, Outer Hebrides, Scotland, Ireland and Honfleur, France). I'm a newbie -- any suggestions on weather and wardrobe for cruise ship (Maritime Cruises) and shore excursions? August 26 - September 9. Thanks!
Old Aug 4th, 2015, 12:09 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
>>any suggestions on weather and wardrobe for cruise ship and shore excursions? <<

Weather could be <i>anything</i> - honest. Anything except hot maybe. It will likely be cool/cold/windy possibly wet on the ship, and could be the same on land. Or it could be nice, clear, calm. Or it could be all of the above.

Layers and waterproof . . .
Old Aug 4th, 2015, 12:38 PM
ESW

If you are out on deck you need to factor in wind chill if you are sailing into the wind. Out of the wind on a sunny day you may be scorching. Facing into the wind you may well be shivering, even though the sun is shining.

As Janice says, layers and waterproofs are the way to go. Waterproofs are also good at cutting down wind chill.

Check the dress code for Maritime Cruises as it sounds as if you may need slightly dressier clothes for the evening meals.

<i>"Dress Code