Bringing Wine Back

Search

Bringing Wine Back

Search this Thread

Old Oct 15th, 2006, 09:04 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bringing Wine Back

The end of this month, I'll be taking another trip to Paris. I have never brought wine back from France, because I never know if it'll be worth it, if I can find it back home.

Now, as an independent wine consultant, I am much more knowledgeable about wines and would like to bring back something unique that I know I won't find at home.

My question is this... how much are we allowed to bring back to the United States per person? And, since liquids are not allowed to carry on... what is the best way to package it to bring it back?

Thanks in advance for your responses!
Old Oct 15th, 2006, 09:24 AM

We just got back from Greece yesterday with almost 2 liters of a liquer called kitron in our checked luggage. I couldn't find the info on the US Customs website, but people on this board told me that you are allowed 1 liter per person, so my husband and I each brought back almost one liter total. The Customs sheet you fill out on the plane doesn't mention alcohol, and passport control only asked us about food. The Customs agent just stamped us and waved us through, so I imagine we could have brought more if we'd wanted to try. I'm still not sure if one liter per person is the actual rule, but we wouldn't have wanted to carry more than that anyway, and there is always the chance you'll be picked for a hand check. We were able to pad the bottles really well with clothing and thankfully none of them broke.