Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Best for a teenager: Rue Monge or the O'deon area?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 3rd, 2006, 07:25 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I am taking my 14 year old daughter to Paris for her first trip abroad and I want it to be perfect!
I studied abroad in France in the mid 1980's but haven't been back since--I'm so incredibly exicted about visiting Paris again that I'm obsessing over the trip, particularly the hotel choice (my life is on hold until I make this decision--no work is getting done!).
I'm wondering if anyone can recommend to me the best area between the Rue Monge/Arenes de Lutece/Rue Mouffetard area and the Place de L'Odeon area?

I have a choice between two bookings: a twin room at Hotel Delavigne and a twin room w/balcony at Hotel Monge. I've read the postings on this list, and all the tripadvisor comments of course, but just can't decide which would be better for restaurants and interesting city life, as well as not being too long a walk to the classic sights. I also want the hotel to seem as pretty and clean and roomy as possible for my picky teenager. Can anyone help me?
Old Mar 3rd, 2006, 09:11 AM

I'm not familiar with these specific hotels so I can't comment on them, but I know both areas. I think the area around Odéon is more animated and fun than the rue Monge. Both are in the Latin Quarter, though.
Old Mar 3rd, 2006, 09:19 AM

I'm partial to the Odeon area, which is where I have stayed on both of my trips to Paris. When I was there last September, I found the area to be very lively and full of students. I find the Rue Monge and Mouffetard areas, while fun, to be kind of touristy. In my opinion, the Odeon area is less so and several Parisian friends have said much the same thing to me. Plus, the area is convenient to the rest of the city too either by Metro or on foot. I can't, however, comment regarding either of your hotel choices.