Best CD or Tape for Travelers French

Old Aug 16th, 2001, 12:50 PM
pam

Best CD or Tape for Travelers French

I spent some time this past weekend looking at all the various recordings available to learn French for travelers.
I speak Spanish fluently, but not more than 3 words of french (and I'm not too good at those).
As I am hoping to travel to France in July 2002, I was wondering which language learning programs you think are excellent?
I narrowed down my search in the stores to the Berlitz tapes and the Living language tapes. I didn't buy anything however, as I was unsure.
Let me know what you think.
Merci!

Old Aug 16th, 2001, 01:14 PM
Santa Chiara

Pam: I highly recommend Pimmsleur's.
They're expensive, but if you really dedicate yourself, you get a lot out of them. Before moving to Italy, I went through the whole 18-tape set couple of times. At first I didn't appreciate what I was learning, but now that I have studied Italian formally, I have a better understanding of, for instance, the conditional, than my classmates.

One caveat: These tapes are all audio, but I had a long commute. I am basically a visual learner, and not having the words in front of me has hindered somewhat. On the other hand, the constant repetition and use of more advanced phrases in an elementary set gave me a better feel for the language. I would recommend them unconditionally.

And I used the short set ( 4 tapes) to brush up on my French for a recent trip.

I am sure you can find a good used set on Amazon.

Old Aug 16th, 2001, 01:20 PM
elaine

Hi Pam
Check the copyrights for currency. Years ago I had Living Language tapes for Italian, and now that I'm studying the language for real, I'm seeing that many of the expressions and usage on my old tapes are very out-of-date.
I also have the Berlitz tapes, bought a couple of years ago. Very good, but I could have done without the touchy-feely introduction, which imo wastes valuable space on the tape.