Best Audio TApes forBeginning Italian

Oct 26th, 2001, 10:09 PM
Karen

Best Audio TApes forBeginning Italian

I bought some 14.95 box of cassettes for conversational Italian, but they are no help because they just keep repeating random phrases in no order and for no purpose. I am a school teacher, I guess I need something a little more structured, but very simple to help me learn the basics of the language and not have to kill myself while I learn. Any ones that have proven to work for you? I only have six months and a car cassette, or CD player. Any good Videos out there to help learn the language. Where can I buy these things. Not too expensive I hope. Thanks Karen

Oct 27th, 2001, 02:36 AM
fiona

Karen
I have tried several audio tapes and have had no success.I'm coming to the conclusion that I will have to attend a course.There are several at colleges specifically for converstion. I will then maybe be able to use the tapes as an additional resource.

Oct 27th, 2001, 05:24 PM
Mark

Karen-
What tapes did you buy? I have a very difficult time learning languages. In fact, some might say I have a very difficult time with English, my native tongue! ;-D However, thanks to the advice of a kind Fodorite, I used the Pimsleur Italian tape series with very good results. You can find the abbreviated version (eight lessons, four audiocassettes) in better bookstores. Complete sets of intro, intermediate, and advanced (about 30 lessons each)instruction can be purchased from Amazon.com or directly from Pimsleur International, Inc. in Concord, MA. Unfortunately, at about $250 each, the complete sets are expensive. No, I don't have any connection with the company. I'm just a satisfied customer. If they can teach ME a foreign language, they can teach ANYBODY!

Oct 28th, 2001, 01:19 AM
Karen