Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Beginning plans for a trip to Italy - which cities do we NEED to see?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 9th, 2009, 04:59 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, all - My boyfriend and I are just beginning to make plans for a trip to Italy next summer and we could use some help.

First question - when should we go? I know it's best to avoid summer months, but I work for a private school and it is best for me to travel mid-June through mid-August. Would early or late summer be better?

Second question - which cities do we need to see?! Neither of us have ever been to Italy, so we are definitely up for traveling all around - no relaxation necessary this trip. We hope to spend about two weeks traveling. I studied art history in college, so I absolutely need to spend a few days in Florence, but we don't need to make the entire trip about museum/cathedral hopping. We would also love to spend a few days near the water - Capri, Sardinia, and Lake Como have all come up. Some suggestions on which cities should be at the top of our list would be really helpful during the beginning stage of our planning!

Thank you!!!
Old Jul 9th, 2009, 05:13 AM

As far as the time to go I went the last two weeks of June and it was great. Not too crowded and not too hot. I would suggest to surely spend a couple of days in Florence it is so beautiful and educational. If you can avoid Rome do so. I didn't have a great experience there. I found the city dirty, (this comes from a New Yorker) noisy, and the people rude. I would also recommend once in Florence maybe a side trip to Siena and San Gimignano you won't regret it. They are what Italy is all about.
Old Jul 9th, 2009, 05:13 AM