Beginner's Question about Ticket to Ediburgh's Waverly Station

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 5th, 2017, 11:58 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

O.K. I'm willing to admit up front that DH and I are complete novice (we did a day trip to Salzburg from Munich and that's it) European train riders. So this is probably a really basic question for most of you, but here goes:

I bought our tickets from London Kings Cross to Edinburgh's Waverly Station. Virgin East Coast website was actually pretty easy to use. I printed the tickets at home. My question has to do with knowing exactly which train we're supposed to get on. In other words, the ticket clearly gives us the date; from and to points; and departure time and we have our reserved seating. In the route section it says,

"On specified VTEC trains & connections."

I'm so used to seeing something like Flight 880 and even the train we did from Munich to Salzburg had a train number on the tickets.

Do I assume there is only one train leaving at the designated departure time and simply watch the departure board?
Old Mar 5th, 2017, 12:06 PM

Received 50 Likes on 7 Posts
>> My question has to do with knowing exactly which train we're supposed to get on<<

Just go by the destination/departure time. Trains have times -- not numbers

At Kings Cross watch the board - maybe 10 minutes prior it will display which track you want.
Old Mar 5th, 2017, 12:37 PM
Original Poster

Thank you janisj - you continue to be a big help!
Old Mar 5th, 2017, 01:40 PM

<i>Beginner's Question about Ticket to Ediburgh's Waverly Station
Posted by: patandhank on Mar 5, 17 at 3:58pm</i>

This introduction to trains in Europe may help you http://www.enjoy-europe.com/trains-in-europe.htm. The UK rail systems are not exactly the same as those on the Continent.
Old Mar 5th, 2017, 01:46 PM

Just go by the destination/departure time. Trains have times -- not numbers>