Search

Auto Europe

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9th, 2005, 04:31 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Auto Europe

I have been using Auto Europe for many years. They email with their specials often. I received one yesterday, and having made my arrangements with them a number of months back for my trip in another week, I decided to see how the rates might have changed. Quite a difference for the same vehicle, which is a Citroen C3 (or similar, automatic, A/C and with all the insurance coverages. It is now $906.19 US for the 2 week period. My contract was in euros, so I went back to CC and I paid US in March $668.48.
In thinking back, I believe CRX, or someone, had sent me some bargain rates and I went back to Auto Europe with the CRX price...it had to go to another department and they called me back within a couple days and met the lower price. I guess it is good to check out some of the others.
Auto Europe may give a 10% discount or something after signing up, but still would not be close to the price that I have. I'm happy!!
Old Sep 9th, 2005, 04:35 AM

It is also within a week of the rental time. What you have shown is that it saves to plan ahead. supply and demand.
Old Sep 9th, 2005, 04:44 AM
Original Poster

Good point, Gretchen..except I went back and picked a 2 week date in Nov. arrival and drop offs on a Sat..guess what, the rates were the same as for one week away..guess the rates have just increased from last Spring.
Old Sep 9th, 2005, 07:45 AM

AutoEurope was more expensive for me last spring. At best they met the CRX price, so I stayed with CRX. I had no problems whatsoever. AutoEurope did not come close to the Thrifty prices in Budapest. On the other hand, it is a known quantity and we don't seem to hear about bad experiences with it.
Old Sep 9th, 2005, 07:56 AM
Original Poster

Michael,