Reload this Page >

appreciate any info about London

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jan 19th, 2006, 07:39 PM
amanda77

I am coming to London for a wedding the first of October and staying for probably 5 days. I want to take in all I can in that time. If you can offer me any information about anything....transportation, sightseeing, airlines, hotels, anything I would appreciate it. I will be coming with others, but paying my own way, so what is an estimate of how much money I would need to have a nice time. Also if you know of any websites where I can get brochures or information sent to me that would be great too. (I found a site one time, but cant seem to find it again.) This is my first time out of the states and it may be the only time I get the opportunity again, so want to see all I can!!

Thank you so much for any help

Old Jan 19th, 2006, 08:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Amanda -- London was for us, a LOT cooler than we thought it would be when we went there for the first time in 2003.

I would highly recommend getting Rick Steves London 2006 guide book. He has some excellent walking tours, as well as (in my opinion) the MOST accurate information about everything from the sights to see and their hours and prices, as well as how best to get there.

London is very easy to get around in. It's a bit on the expensive side. My husband and I usually budget about $100US per person, per day for hotel and food, with extra for shopping, etc. A lot of sights in London are free, and The Tube is easy to use, so that part is not so expensive. But we found food to be a bit spendy, and we splurged on some good tickets to see Les Miserable in Picadilly, a night at the theatre I wouldn't miss for the world.

Here are the sights I wouldn't miss: