Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

Anyone done a VAT refund at the Zurich Airport?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 20th, 2010, 02:04 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have a few questions. I will be purchasing a Louis Vuitton purchase in France, however my departing airport home back to the States is in Zurich. How do I claim the VAT refund at the Zurich airport? I have some knowledge that I believe I get in one line to get my form stamped and then get in another line to actually get my refund.

Also, can I actually get my forms stamped in Zurich since Switzerland is not part of the EU? Ahhh!!! I am so confused. OR, do I have to get my forms stamped in France? (they have a higher VAT refund percentage than Swiss)
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 02:32 PM

I think someone on this forum told me a couple of years ago that it is possible to get your VAT refund at Zurich. I had no luck the last time I flew out of there. I was told that I could only get a refund on items purchased in Switzerland. I do hope that has changed. Please post back and let us know. I never depart from ZRH any more just because of that. I usually try to fly back to the states from Nice-so simple!
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 03:50 PM
Original Poster

I am hoping someone replies to this post with the answer.
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 05:38 PM
Original Poster

ttt
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 05:49 PM
Original Poster

I have an almost 2 hour layover in Amsterdam before continuing on to the States. Perhaps I can get my detaxe forms stamped there?
Old Jun 20th, 2010, 05:58 PM

I do not think you can get your forms stamped in Switzerland for purchases made in the EU.

Your plan to take care of this in Amsterdam might work but if it doesn't, you're probably out of luck.