Another Oyster question

Nov 13th, 2006, 09:09 AM
Original Poster

Another Oyster question

My next trip will be 4 days in London, 4 days out of town, and then finishing w/ 4 more days in London.

So is Pay-as-you-go my best/only (?) option?

thanks
Nov 13th, 2006, 03:51 PM

What about a seven day travelcard loaded on an Oyster and then add some extra cash for PayG if needed. The way I understand it, the seven days don't have to be consecutive, do they?
Nov 13th, 2006, 04:00 PM
Original Poster

"the seven days don't have to be consecutive, do they?"

They do -- A 7-day travel card is for 7 consecutive days.
Nov 13th, 2006, 04:18 PM

Oops! Duh... Every time I think I've got it straight, I don't. Well, maybe someone who knows what they're talking about will chime in. I need to rethink my Oyster plans also. I'm leaving London for a couple of days in the middle of my visit too...
Nov 14th, 2006, 05:31 AM

In preparation for my 12/22/06 trip to London, I'm also studying toward a master's in London Underground, so I'll chime in. In your situation I would get an Oyster and pay as you go, with no Travelcards.

The 7-day Travelcard would be a money-loser for you because of the four intervening days away from London. You would use only four days out of the seven days' travel value on your card, not enough to break even. Many posters on this site have worked out break-even to be at five days of Travelcard use.

1-day off-peak Travelcards for zones 1-2 (cannot be loaded on an Oyster) would be £4.90 each, and 3-day peak Travelcards for zones 1-2 (similarly cannot be loaded on a Oyster) would be £15.40, so you can see that the per-day costs of each of these options, respectively, would be more than the per-day cap of £4.40 when you ride the tube using the Oyster on a PAYG basis.