ankara/sivas/divrigi/eastern turkey trip

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 8th, 2012, 03:53 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

this is my first time writing a trip report.i want to thank all the people on this forum & on TA & Other forum with whose help I had wonderful trip to turkey..this was my second visit to Turkey.
i started the trip from LA TO NEW JERSY & FROM NEW JERSEY TO ISTANBUL ON UNITED AIRLINE.I EVEN PAID EXTRA TO UPGRADE.ONLY COMMENTS I HAVE FOR THEM IS THEY ARE NOT WORTH TRAVELLING WITH.I have travelled to various part of the world & used various airlines but never had this opinion for an airline.I took Turkish air(great airline)
to Ankara.So finally we(my husband & myself) arrived at our hotel DIVAN CUKUHARRAN.
I have posted the review separately.had a great room & slept well.
13/9/12: saw museum of Anatolia civilization,IT was only partly open & had great visit
after that i visited ANKARA KALESI which was right across from the hotel.It has great view of the city & nice little shops on the way uo.I n the evening we took taxi to ANIT KABIR.It is a fantastic monument & a wonderful tribute to father of TURKEY.(ATATURK).They have wonderful display of history & revolution.we also got to see change of guards in the evening.
we took taxi back to Ulus Meydani & strolled around Victory monument,julian column & walked back to the hotel.We chatted for a while with the night receptionist who suggested to visit HAMNA ANYU.There are lots of small resturants in the area & on the way y see some old homes which are currently in process of renovation to original style.
Then walked back up hill to the hotel after 9 p.m. but felt safe.