Aiuto! (Or help with translations)

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 12:22 PM
nancy

Aiuto! (Or help with translations)

Dear Fodorites,
I know there have been a few postings listing a site or two that help with foreign language translations.
But today, I am unable to bring the threads up on my computer.
I have been studying italian on my own for about 6-7 months now for our upcoming trip.
And I am at the stage where I am able to compose a good request for room info, etc, in italian, (plus I also put it in English to make sure that that someone does not think I am requesting a room with a dessert, dolce vs. doccia)
And although I am able to translate the replies (most of them are replying to me in Italian only!!)
I would like to run my replies through a translation, if possible, to make sure I am translating correctly.
So, thank you much if anyone is able to come up with a website.
nancy

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 12:24 PM
betsy

www.babelfish.com

Buon viaggio!

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 12:32 PM
pam

Nancy,
It's actually at babelfish.altavista.com now. I could maybe help you if you want to email me privately.
Pam

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 12:40 PM
Santa Chiara

Nancy, since you have been studying for several months, you probably have enough dictionaries and grammar books to figure it out with a little research. I have also had to revert to English, apologizing in advance for my limited Italian. I usually get a response back in English.

Furthermore, I am hugely disappointed with Babelfish, although I will occasionally run an article from La Repubblica, just for my amusement because, secondo me, they really slaughter the translation.

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 01:02 PM
Ed

Give elingo a try. www.elingo.com I just ran across it today. A real quick test seemed to show much better results than AltaVista. Hardly perfect, but much better. Appreciate hearing feedback from anyone on this or other improved services.

Ed

Old Nov 21st, 2000, 02:11 PM
gb