airfares to Europe this summer -- they seem high to me

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9th, 2012, 10:01 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'm planning a trip to Belgium and The Netherlands for late June/early July starting from Los Angeles. I keep checking airfares and am amazed at the $1,400+ rates I see for coach, and I've been checking for several months. I want to fly into Brussels and fly out of Amsterdam. In the past I traveled mostly in May and September but now that I live in the desert I want to get out of the desert heat for a couple of weeks in mid-summer. Should I be booking now or do summer fares drop as the time gets closer? Advice would be appreciated. Diane
Old Mar 9th, 2012, 10:10 PM

Fares are expected to get higher as the year goes by. Oil prices are the culprit. Nobody can predict the future, but things don't look good this year.
Old Mar 9th, 2012, 10:38 PM

Unfortunately, you're planning to fly in high season when fares are traditionally highest. If you had booked in January you might have found cheaper fares. Two discounters I have used, www.vayama.com and www.cheapoair.com list your flight for around $1400. I doubt the fare will go down.
Old Mar 9th, 2012, 11:18 PM

Minimum you should turn on fare alert such as www.kayak.com. What it gives you is the latest fares plus the chart of the actual price trends.

The kayak one can only do round trips, so you have to set up minimum of two alerts: BRU round trip and AMS round trip and extrapolate the multi-city pricing.