Homelidays apartment refund

Search

Search this Thread

Old Dec 22nd, 2007, 12:48 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Could someone advise me as to how I can reclaim at least 50% of money paid upfront for an apartment rented through Homelidays. The apartment owner breached the contract by failing to provide an apartment that had adequate heating and a good standard kitchen equipment.Our family who rented this in Tunisia was frozen and could not stay more than a day out of the 14 days booked. The price charged was of European standard ( owners live in Paris)while the amenities were developing world standard, even worse we think.Could someone advise?
Old Dec 22nd, 2007, 04:58 AM

Caveat: I'm no legal expert, I'm just going on such experience with contracts as I've had.

I note that the homelidays website sells a 'surprise proof insurance' to cover instances 'of discrepancy between the property and its description on Homelidays.' This certainly sounds like your case.

Alas, even had you taken out this insurance, there is this in the fine print: "Please note that the insurance is ONLY valid for holidays in accommodations within the European Union." The owners might live in Paris, but the accomodation is in Tunisia, so you might be facing quite a battle, even with documented proof. On that note, pictures of the kitchen would support your claim about the equipment, but how to prove that the air inside was cold? I'm assuming you didn't mean it was literally freezing (i.e, water in kitchen pots froze over, which would be a visible clue in a photograph.) You would have needed a witness, I think, to a thermometer reading, or perhaps a service technician's report...