Go Back  Fodor's Travel Talk Forums > Destinations > Europe
Reload this Page >

A few questions about the Amalfi Coast (in May)

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9th, 2013, 04:50 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Good morning

Tickets are bought, let the planning begin.

<b>I am spending nine nights on the Amalfi Coast in mid-May.</b> I have three guidebooks (two centered around hiking, and one (gasp) is Rick Steves. Don't judge! This is my first time to the Amalfi Coast and he always has a decent high level overview of things to see and do for first timers. The other two are the Cicerone hiking guide and the Sunflower Landscapes series (hiking). I'll probably get one more guidebook before I set out. Or not, maybe the internet can fill in the gaps.

I am tentatively thinking of the first three nights on Capri (land at 1230 PM, probably arrive at my hotel around 4 PM) and have to find a hotel there.

<b>Q:</b> Should I look to Capri or Anacapri for my three nights? Where am I most likely to have things to do or see in the evenings - even if it's just people watching at a cafe with a glass of wine? I am hoping to do at least one hike while I am on Capri.

<b>Q:</b> Blue grotto: must do/do not miss it, or, don't lose sleep over it?

The next five nights will be Positano, most likely.

<b>Q:</b> Although I have hiking guidebooks, spending one day with a local guide for hiking would be useful. At least until I get the lay of the land. Bonus if this person collects you at your hotel. Any recos?