8 Nights in Cote d'Azur and Paris - Help on Paris Hotels

Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 25th, 2014, 09:05 AM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've got a bit of a whirlwind trip to France coming up end of Sept/early Oct. While I'd love to go for longer since it's my first time in the country, the trip built around a work conference with 3 nights in Cannes that I can't move. So I'll only have 3 nights for Paris, and I want to ensure I make a good decision on lodging location for easy access to sights and a range of eating and entertainment options.

My main focus in Paris is getting a feel for the atmosphere, walking, browsing, people watching, and eating well from street food to high end. I likely won't have too much time to spend in museums: my must museum is the Musee de l'Orangerie, and Musee d'Orsay, Muse Marmottan, and Musee Rodin are also on my list but are not musts. I'd love to do a bike tour, potentially in the evening to keep the days more free.

I'll arrive at Gare de Lyon on the TGV from Cannes. I narrowed to a few hotels within my price point range ($280 - $300 per night) in the recommended arrondissements for first timers (4th - 7th).

Hotel Henri IV Rive Gauche (http://www.henri-paris-hotel.com/en/...l-paris-henri4) - like the location near the river, but would it be better to be in heart of Saint Germain or Latin Quarter instead?

Hotel Saint Jacques (http://www.paris-hotel-stjacques.com...rd-double-room) similar location to Henri IV, but farther from river, slightly cheaper

Hotel Saint Paul Paris (http://www.hotelsaintpaulparis.com/s...aul_paris.html)

Hotel Signature St Germain (http://www.hotellindbergh.com/#/les-chambres) I think this is likely the best situated for cafes/strolling, so right now it's my first choice

Hotel Pas de Calais (http://www.hotelpasdecalais.com/#) best value option, but seems least interesting, though I don't anticipate spending too much time in the hotel

Right now, the full schedule looks like: