4 WEEKS IN GREAT BRITAIN?

Search

Search this Thread

Old Mar 24th, 2006, 06:34 PM
Original Poster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

i'm trying again....is this tooo long to spend in great britain, even taking a side trip to ireland? this is my first time to europe and really want to get the "feel" of a country or city...and another consideration is this...Paris is so close, do i dare skip it even though i plan on returning some day (God willing of course)??Thanks to all you good people...pat,better know as soulfulms
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 06:36 PM

I don't think 4 weeks is too long at all. We did a 3 week trip, including about 4 days in Ireland and N. Ireland, and a few days in Scotland, and I felt we barely scratched the surface. I would leave Paris for another trip. There is so much there to see, it would take too much time away from Great Britain.
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 06:50 PM

First, there is no right answer to this. I want to know, since this is your first trip, will you be travelling with someone or by yourself? Will you be renting a car to drive through the countryside or taking trains? Where else in Great Britain are you thinking of going?

With 4 weeks, you have a lot of different options. The first thing is to try to figure out what your interests are and then we can help you clarify where you might want to go.

All that being said, as a first trip, I would definitely split it-- I think you can spend 2-3 weeks in Great Britain and Ireland and spend a week in Paris easily. I think Paris is one of the great cities in Europe, and a great place to go on your first trip to Europe.
Paule
Old Mar 24th, 2006, 08:27 PM

Kell, I tend to like to focus on one country per trip, for the reason you stated. I want to zero in on that one country.